From 18th to 19th century

The very first horns were made by boilermakers at the end of the 17th century. They also produced trumpets, kettledrums and cymbals, as well as other copper utensils for everyday use. Among the oldest horn makers or manufacturers, special attention is given to the names of Crétien (or Crestien, or Chrétien), Le Brun and most importantly Raoux, where we count four generations until the 19th century.

Etienne-François Périnet

Image de tapisserie

It’s under the latter, Auguste Raoux, that a young Savoie-born worker is initiated in the profession during the 1820s. The youngster Etienne-François Périnet learns fast: not only is he manually skilled, he has also got an insatiable curiousity and a sharp eye for detail. At Raoux’s, all sorts are being manufactured; however, he is particularly interested in prototypes of valve instruments that have recently appeared in Germany.  In 1829, François Périnet, who has chosen to give up his first name, thinks of adding a third valve to the 2-valve cornet, thus giving the instrument a complete scale of notes. In order to truly take advantage of his innovation, he decides to set up shop on his own.

From this point onwards, a series of innovations follow. In 1834, he comes up with a new cornet model, which is none other than the one we use at present. In 1838, he installs a valve with staggered openings, which boosts the performance of the instrument compared to other horns of the era: it’s known as the ” Périnet Sysytem” and it’s still being used today in trumpets and certain types of horn. In the year 1814, the “bass valve” is created; this is a large instrument with four valves, a prelude to the modern tuba…

Adolphe Sax

Image Adolphe Sax

However, Périnet is faced with a reputable rival: Adolphe Sax, the Belgian instrument manufacturer, inventor of the saxophone and the saxhorn family of instruments (alto, bass, tuba and others). Not only is Sax an imaginative creator, he is also a sensible and strong financier, gifted with an intreaguing talent. In 1845, he becomes the exclusive supplier of wind instruments to the army, the navy as well as to punlic theatres.  The market is booming; moreover, Sax’s instruments enjoy the benefits of official recognition which marginalises all others.

Things get rough for Périnet. He formes a committee with his old emplouer Raoux and three other instrument makers in order to denounce this breach of market forces. Nevertheless, the letter addressed to the Ministry of War. Auguste Raoux, on the other hand, engages in long and arduous procedures against Sax; procedures that bear no fruit, and as a result of which he is forced to sell his business in 1857. Despite the fact that he has contributed largely to their development François Périnet gives up the business of valve instruments, and consecrates himself exclusively to the hunting horn. As his continuous inventions demonstrate, he has always tried hard to master the technique; thus he intends to be the best at this, too.

First horn associations

Illustration femme sonneur premières sociétés de trompe de chasse

At the end of the 1840s, he ignites the profound metamorphosis of the hunting horn. Since it’s creation, the hunting horn has always been played on its own or coupled with another horn, and the instrument itself is not perceived as a source of powerful sound. Nonetheless, with the appereance of the bass part in 1848, trios or even larger formations get together to play. At the same time, the first horn associations are born, and people start playing in groups. This goes hand in hand with the spirit of the era. As the dominant force in all areas of life for two decades, the wave of Romanticism has introduced a certain taste for the excessive:  as in music, so in fashion, as well as an appreciation for powerful sound effects (and even “noisy” sounds, according to the critics of the era). Everything that can highlight this temperanment is highly appreciated, and the horn is no exception.

Credits go to François Périnet for understanding this development even though it is just beginning to unfold, and for his innovative approach to instrument making, which greatly contributes to this process.  His understanding of all aspects of the profession is largely due to his research on the cornet and the bass, among others. He knows how to improve the emission of sound, how to work on accuracy, tone or power to succeed in bringing to life an instrument that is perfect as it is accessible. For him, the weak point of the horn (as known at the time) is it’s lack of powerful sound. It suffices to imagine a group with more powerful instruments…

He is aware that the solution lies with the form of the bell. The bell of the hunt at the time, which has barely changed since it’s creation, has a rather flat rim with a narrow bolt (see page 8), one that opens out abruptly. The resonance, Though it’s rather soft, could be brilliant in forte; but it lacks a certain amplitude.

A powerful sound

Photo veneur à cheval

He is convinced that the sound range needs to be widened, which will in turn modify the general harmonics of the instrument. Therefore he sets about readjusting each detail for manufacturing the horn. It’s a long-drawn-out job requiring lots of patience. It is not until 1855 that François Périnet manages develop a type of bell that offers a powerful sound and a high quality tone that do not detract from the other characteristics of the instrument. But the final piece is a true success, so much so that this new model is reproduced and sold in large numbers, and eventually replaces all previously popular examples.  In fact, it is still used as the standard in horn making today.

Even though Périnet patented his earlier inventions, he didn’t deem it necessary to do so when it came to what seemed to him a simple enhancement. From this point on, he stands up to be accounted for, and decides the best way would be to find an associate to expand his business. In 1859, having found the right candidate, he changes the brand name to “François Périnet, Pettex-Muffat & Cie”, and moves his workshop from Paris to a larger spot in Passy. The following year, Pettex-Muffat launches their famous garland trompe in relief designed by Garnier.

In all likelihood, François Périnet seems to have disappeared by 1862 or 1963. His successors bring manufacturing back to Paris; but carefully ensure the high quality for which he became known, and preserve the brand under his name as a means to gauge excellence. Even today, the term “Périnet” immediately conjures up the image of  the hunting horn.

What is the secret of Périnet ?

Photo procédés de fabrication

The manufacturing processes are known for their fundamental precision, and stand the test of modern times. This savoir-faire makes all the difference: it resides largely in conception and assembly, for high quality instrument manufacturing cannot stem from an industrial context. The present-day Périnet range reflects a subtle balance of indispensable practical expertise as well as substantial knowledge of the most recent technological innovations. If there is a secret, it lies with this relentless determination to do better forever, which also distinguishes the brand since its beginnings. Every Périnet horn is unique: thus each and every one of them is marked by a specific number.

Yannick Bureau is the successor of the Périnet House

photo de Yannick Bureau

Following in the footsteps of his uncle Michel BUREAU, he is in charge of design as well as the manufacturing process since 1994. He gives concerts with the Périnet Academy, the horn training association that he created, at the House of Hunting and Nature in Paris. Here he has put in place the best horn teaching practices and learning techniques, which in turn enables him to advise each player and huntsman regarding the choice of instrument and mouthpiece.

Périnet

Du XVIIe au XIXe s.

La fabrication des premières trompes, à la fin du 17ème siècle, était assurée par les chaudronniers qui produisaient aussi trompettes, timbales et cymbales, à côté des ustensiles de cuivre d’usage courant. Parmi les plus anciens « faiseurs » ou « facteurs » de trompes, on relève les noms de Crétien (ou Crestien, ou Chrétien), de Le Brun et surtout de Raoux dont quatre générations se sont succédées jusqu’au 19ème siècle.

Etienne-François Périnet


Image de tapisserie

C’est chez le dernier, Auguste Raoux, qu’un jeune ouvrier originaire de Savoie s’initie au métier dans les années 1820. Etienne-François Périnet – c’est lui – apprend vite: il n’a pas seulement une habileté manuelle, il a également une curiosité insatiable et un sens de l’observation constamment en éveil. Chez Raoux, on fabrique de tout, mais il s’intéresse particulièrement aux instruments à pistons récemment apparus en Allemagne et qui en sont encore à leurs premiers balbutiements. En 1829, François Périnet (qui a abandonné son premier prénom) a l’idée d’ajouter un troisième piston au cornet qui n’en comportait jusqu’alors que deux, donnant ainsi à l’instrument une échelle de notes complète. Et pour mieux exploiter cette innovation, il décide de s’installer à son compte.

Désormais les inventions vont se succéder. En 1834, c’est un nouveau modèle de cornet qui n’est autre que celui qu’on connaît actuellement. En 1838, il met au point un piston à ouvertures décalées, beaucoup plus performant que le procédé alors en usage : connu sous le nom de « système Périnet », il est encore aujourd’hui utilisé pour la trompette et pour certains modèles de cor. L’année 1841 voit la création d’un « piston-basse », un gros instrument à quatre pistons qui préfigure le tuba moderne…

Adolphe Sax

Image Adolphe Sax

Mais Périnet a un concurrent redoutable en la personne d’Adolphe Sax, un facteur d’instruments d’origine belge, inventeur entre autres du saxophone et de la famille des saxhorns (alto, basse, tuba, etc.). Sax n’est pas qu’un créateur imaginatif, c’est aussi un financier avisé et solide, doublé d’un intrigant habile. En 1845, il parvient à obtenir une exclusivité totale pour la fourniture d’instruments à vent aux armées et à la marine ainsi qu’aux théâtres publics. Le marché est énorme, et surtout les instruments de Sax bénéficient ainsi d’une reconnaissance officielle qui marginalise les autres.

Le coup est rude pour Périnet. Avec son ancien employeur Raoux et trois autres facteurs d’instruments, il forme un comité pour dénoncer cet abus. Mais la lettre qu’ils adressent au Ministre de la Guerre reste sans effet. De son côté, Auguste Raoux s’engage dans des procédures longues et ruineuses contre Sax, procédures qui n’aboutiront pas et le contraindront à vendre son affaire en 1857. François Périnet, lui, adopte une voie plus sage.

Certes il peut se mesurer à Sax au plan technique, mais il n’a pas la « surface financière » ni le réseau d’influences qui lui permettraient de tenir tête. Alors, tournant le dos aux instruments à pistons auxquels il a pourtant apporté de notables perfectionnements, il se consacre désormais exclusivement à la trompe de chasse, un domaine où il y a peu de chance que Sax lui porte ombrage. Et de même qu’il s’est toujours efforcé d’être à la pointe de la technique, comme l’ont montré ses inventions successives, il entend bien être là aussi le meilleur.

Les premières sociétés de trompe

Illustration femme sonneur premières sociétés de trompe de chasse

Sans doute pressent-il la mutation profonde qu’amorce la trompe à la fin des années 1840. Depuis l’origine, on ne sonne que seul ou à deux trompes et l’instrument lui-même n’est pas conçu pour avoir une grande puissance de son. Mais avec la partie de basse qui apparaît en 1848, il devient possible de constituer des trios ou des formations plus importantes. C’est l’époque où se constituent les premières sociétés de trompes et où l’on commence à sonner en groupe. C’est du reste bien dans l’esprit du temps. La vague romantique qui envahit tous les domaines depuis deux décennies a introduit un certain goût pour la démesure : en musique, la mode est aux effets sonores puissants (et même « bruyants » selon les critiques du temps). Tout ce qui peut y concourir est évidemment très apprécié, et la trompe n’y échappe pas.

Le mérite de François Périnet est de comprendre cette évolution alors même qu’elle en est à ses débuts, et de l’accompagner en innovant une fois encore en matière de facture instrumentale. Ses recherches sur le cornet ou la basse – entre autres – l’ont familiarisé avec tous les aspects techniques du métier. Il sait comment travailler la facilité d’émission, la justesse, le timbre ou la puissance, pour aboutir à un instrument aussi parfait que possible. Le manque de son, justement, lui paraît être le point faible de la trompe telle qu’elle existe à l’époque. Il suffit d’imaginer un groupe qui disposerait d’instruments plus puissants…

Il sait bien que la solution réside essentiellement dans la forme du pavillon. Celui de la trompe existante, qui n’a guère subi de changement depuis l’origine, a un bord assez aplati avec un tonnerre étroit qui s’évase brusquement. La sonorité, plutôt douce, peut être brillante dans le forté mais manque un peu d’ampleur.

Et la puissance du son naît

Photo veneur à cheval

Pour lui en donner, il faut évidemment élargir le tonnerre ce qui modifie l’équilibre sonore général et oblige à réajuster toutes les autres données de fabrication. C’est un travail patient, de longue haleine. Il faudra à François Périnet plusieurs années – jusqu’en 1855 – pour mettre au point un profil de pavillon offrant puissance de son et qualité de timbre sans nuire aux autres caractéristiques de l’instrument. Mais c’est une réussite totale, au point que ce nouveau modèle est rapidement copié et se généralise, remplaçant tout ce qui existait jusqu’alors. Il reste aujourd’hui le standard de la trompe.

Cependant si Périnet a breveté ses premières inventions, il n’a pas jugé utile de le faire pour ce qui n’était à ses yeux qu’une simple amélioration. Aussi lui faut-il désormais lutter pour tenir sa place, et le meilleur moyen est de trouver un associé pour développer les affaires. C’est fait en 1859, l’enseigne devenant « François Périnet, Pettex-Muffat & Cie », et l’atelier quittant Paris pour des locaux plus vastes à Passy. L’année suivante, Pettex-Muffat lance sa célèbre trompe à guirlande en relief dessinée par Garnier.

Selon toute vraissemblance, François Périnet disparaît en 1862 ou 1863. Ses successeurs ramèneront la fabrication à Paris, mais maintiendront fidèlement la tradition de qualité qu’il avait instaurée, veillant à conserver la marque à son nom comme gage d’excellence. Aujourd’hui encore, ne suffit-il pas d’entendre dire « Périnet » pour qu’on pense immédiatement « trompe » ?

Y a-t-il un secret Périnet ?


Photo procédés de fabrication

Les procédés de fabrication sont pour l’essentiel connus, et les acquis modernes ont dans de nombreux cas fait leurs preuves. Le savoir-faire qui marque la différence – réside en grande partie dans la conception et l’assemblage, car une facture instrumentale de qualité ne peut se passer d’un environnement artisanal. La gamme Périnet actuelle maintient ainsi un subtil équilibre entre une solide expérience pratique, indispensable, et une maîtrise sûre des technologies les plus récentes, elle aussi déterminante. S’il y a un secret, il est surtout à rechercher dans cet acharnement à toujours mieux faire qui est la signature de la marque depuis l’origine. Chaque trompe Périnet est unique : c’est pourquoi chacune porte aujourd’hui un numéro qui la personnalise.

Yannick Bureau est le successeur de la Maison Périnet


photo de Yannick Bureau

Depuis 1994, après son oncle Michel BUREAU, Il a en charge à la fois la conception, le suivi de fabrication. Il a créé et anime avec une équipe pédagogique, l’académie Périnet à la Maison de la chasse et de la nature à Paris ou il a mis en place les meilleures techniques d’apprentissage de l’instrument, ce qui lui permet de conseiller les sonneurs et les veneurs sur le choix d’un instrument et de l’embouchure.